考虑到通讯需求将在1992年奥运会期间大幅度增加,届时将有大量传输桅杆布满巴塞罗那相邻的提彼达博山(Tibidabo)山坡。市长Pasqual Maragall意识到上述情况可能造成的负面环境影响,便果断地决定整体协调这个区域的全部通讯和传播基础设施。他成功说服了主要的三家广播公司:国家广播公司、加泰罗尼亚(Catalan)电视及西班牙电讯公司(Telefonica)以建设一座共享的电信塔。该塔的竞赛任务提出了应权衡以下两方面的问题——即在满足运营要求的同时,令其成为巴塞罗那不朽的科技象征。最终的解决方案彻底改建了最初原则指导下的电信塔。

要达到288米的高度要求,传统的钢筋混凝土塔需要一个25米直径的管井。此解决办法将完全不合时宜。相反,通过对之前的设计,包括对吊桥和造船技术进行分析,一个全新的结构概念浮现出来:采用混凝土填充的钢支撑管,其底座直径只有4.5米,这样可以极大地减小塔对山坡的影响。为了达到仅24个月的施工进度要求,管井、桅杆和设备层的施工同步进行。当混凝土井浇筑完成,钢架层和公共观景平台在地面组装也已完毕,并可将其一寸一寸吊起,安装到位。最后的点睛之笔为将钢制无线电杆嵌入到中空的管井中。

设备层被三个主桁架和凯夫拉尔(Kevlar)索紧系悬挂在管井上,该凯夫拉尔(Kevlar)索对于广播信号的传播毫无阻碍。设备安装和转移通过电梯来进行,而位于杆顶的起重机则将新的天线吊装到位。内在的灵活性保证了该电信塔可在现在以及久远的未来都能支持飞速发展的电信设施格局。

草稿和图纸

开发项目

施工项目

报价

The tower is basically an exercise in minimalism

as different from the ‘chimney’ towers of the 1960s as is the electronic world of the 1990s from the age of black and white television and room-size computers.”Kenneth Powell, Blueprint extra 6, 1992

The form of the tower is a revolutionary response to its site and function. But more importantly it is perceived as a three-dimensional sculpture. In that sense it has become a popular and enduring symbol for the cit of Barcelona.” Norman Foster

The tower visually links the ancient heart of the city and its far flung suburbs

and the mastery of advanced construction technique that it displays seems appropriate in the symbolic pivot of a community determined to approach the future with optimism.”John Pink, The Architectural Review, August 1992

事实和数据

  • 预约: 1988
  • 结束日期: 1992
  • 地区: 5 800m²
  • 高度: 288m
  • 客户: Torre de Collserola SA
  • 结构工程师: Arup
  • 工料测量师: Davis Langdon

奖项s

  • The Architecture FAD Award, Barcelona
  • The Opinion FAD Award, Barcelona
  • Cultural Foundation Madrid Award
  • The Architecture and Urbanism Award of the City of Barcelona
  • Premio Alcantara Award for Public Works in Latin American Countries

Torre de Collserola


In anticipation of the communications requirements of the 1992 Olympic Games, Barcelona was facing an explosion of transmission masts on the Tibidabo mountainside. Sensing the environmental impact this would have, Mayor Pasqual Maragall decided that the communications and broadcasting infrastructure for the entire region should be coordinated. He convinced the three primary players - national and Catalan television and Telefonica - to build a shared telecommunications tower. The competition brief posed the problem as a balancing act between operational requirements and the desire for a technological symbol. The solution reinvents the telecommunications tower from first principles.

A conventional reinforced-concrete tower would have required a shaft with a 25-metre-diameter base in order to achieve the 288-metre height required. Following an analysis of precedents, including suspension bridges and shipbuilding techniques, an entirely new structural concept emerged: a hybrid concrete and steel-braced tube, with a base diameter of only 4.5 metres, which minimises the towers impact on the mountainside. In order to meet a construction programme of just twenty-four months the construction of shaft, mast and equipment decks was overlapped. As the shaft was poured, the steel-framed decks and public viewing platform were assembled on the ground ready to be jacked, inch by inch, into position. In a final flourish, the steel radio mast was telescoped inside the hollow shaft.

The equipment decks are suspended from the shaft by three primary trusses and braced by Kevlar cables, which are transparent to broadcasting signals. Equipment is installed or removed by lift, and a crane at the top of the mast hoists antennae into place. Inherent flexibility ensures that the tower is able to respond to a rapidly evolving telecommunications future.

None of the television coverage of this year’s Olympics is likely to be as exciting as the tower used to relay the events.

The Architects’ Journal

North Greenwich Interchange
1998 - London, UK

North Greenwich Interchange

Millau Viaduct
2004 - Millau, France

Millau Viaduct

Bilbao Metro
1995 - Bilbao, Spain

Bilbao Metro

Beijing Capital International Airport
2008 - Beijing, China

Beijing Capital International Airport

Haramain High Speed Rail
2019 - Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Haramain High Speed Rail

Panthalassa, sailing yacht
2009

Panthalassa, sailing yacht

Sydney Metro Barangaroo Station
Sydney, Australia

Sydney Metro Barangaroo Station

Upper Orwell Crossings
2017 - Ipswich, UK

Upper Orwell Crossings

York University Station, Toronto Subway
2018 - Toronto, Canada

York University Station, Toronto Subway

HACTL Superterminal
1998 - Hong Kong, China

HACTL Superterminal