2021 - 宾夕法尼亚州, 美国

宾夕法尼亚大学的Pavilion

宾夕法尼亚大学健康系统(Penn Medicine)的新病人馆Pavilion是一座灵活的住院病人设施,将成为Penn Medicine在西费城广阔校区的一个学院及建筑标志。它与世界上最先进的一些研究实验室和专业成像设施位于同一个综合建筑,设计旨在以病人为中心,使研究协作更方便。新建筑将作为“未来医院”的蓝图,关注病人体验与舒适,提供世界上最先进的医疗护理。

建筑的设计可持续性、高效、令人振奋又兼顾周围环境,满足人们物质和精神的有形无形需要。这是一种把病人放在第一位置的设计方法,他们的体验从大堂开始,确保给人安心而又受欢迎的感觉,这种体验通过舒适的病房及令人精神振奋的空间(如高耸的咖啡馆及周围的花园)得到延伸。设计对馆内的病人的保健有一个整体的思维,对病人、来访者及员工的灯光及视野作了优先考虑。各病房的规划系统独特又灵活,将建筑分成一个个“邻里”,范围更小、规模更人性化,整个环境给人更敏感、个性化的感觉。每层楼都有一个供陪同病人的家属使用的“客厅”,病床的大小及配置也是灵活的,使其更能应对变化的需求及病人要求。

灵活度也是设计的主要考虑方面,通常来说,一位病人最不愉快的体验是为了配合他们所需的不同医疗护理,不停地被轮椅推进推出到不同房间。500个急诊私人病房的设计支持不同类型的病人护理,从重症监护室到基本住院设施,每个病房都足够宽敞,能够容纳家属与病人住在一起。病房还有互动墙,能够让病人定制自己的环境,同时还能作为医生的实时信息与教学辅助工具。随着医疗服务的演变,病人的重点会继续改变,这就需要有新的科技的支持,具体什么样的科技我们现在很难预测。该建筑设计为未来医疗服务提供了一个平台。

同样重要的是新建筑与环境必须融为一体。为了将费城精彩的市民传统继续下去,设计打造了一个新的公共广场,成为所有周边建筑的中心,这将在稳固Penn Medicine的地位的同时,又帮助建立医院与大学校区见的新联系。建筑的形式既独树一格,又与校区的建筑保持和谐,弧度设计就参考了宾夕法尼亚大学博物馆(Penn Museum)的圆形建筑。此外,从火车站到这个新的公共广场有一条新的、更清晰的线路,使抵达的来访者能看到整个宾州医院校园,更容易、更直观地找到方向。该新路线还为该地块引入了一片新绿——一个连接小河及城市的药材种植园,它是一道由可食用、美丽的而又有医用价值的植物构成的风景线。

宾夕法尼亚大学的Pavilion

宾夕法尼亚州 美国

浏览地图
  • 预约 2015
  • 结束日期 2021
  • 地区 139,350m²
  • 客户 Penn Medicine

2021 - Pennsylvania, USA

Pavilion, University of Pennsylvania

The New Patient Pavilion for the University of Pennsylvania Health System (Penn Medicine) is a flexible inpatient facility that will serve as a new institutional and architectural icon for Penn Medicine on its extensive campus in West Philadelphia. Co-located within the same complex with some of the world’s most advanced research laboratories and specialized imaging facilities, the design intent is to place the patient at the center and enable collaboration in research. The new building will serve as a blueprint for the ‘hospital of the future’, with a focus on patient experience and comfort, providing the most cutting-edge medical care in the world.

The design of the building is sustainable, efficient, uplifting and sensitive to its surroundings, responding to the needs of people – material and spiritual, measurable and intangible. With this approach, the patient comes first. Their experience starts with a reassuring welcome in the lobby, and extends through comfortable wards and uplifting spaces, such as the soaring cafe and surrounding gardens. By prioritising light and views for the patients, visitors and staff, the design takes a holistic view towards the wellbeing of the people inside. The unique, flexible planning system for the units breaks the building down into ‘neighborhoods’ which signify a smaller, more human scale, providing a feeling of a more sensitive and personalised environment. Each floor features a family ‘living room’ for people accompanying the patient, and the size and configuration of the bed units is also flexible to be more reactive to changing needs and patient demands.

Flexibility is also a key consideration; often the most unpleasant experiences for a patient are when they are constantly wheeled in and out of different rooms to accommodate the changing level of medical care they require. The 500 acuity adaptable private patient rooms have been designed to support varying types of patient care – from Intensive Care Units to basic in-patient facilities, and are spacious enough for family to stay with the patient. They also feature an interactive wall that allows the patient to customise their own environment, while also working as a real-time information and teaching aid for doctors. As medical science evolves, patient priorities will continue to change and new technologies will need to be incorporated – many of which we cannot yet predict. In this way the building provides a platform for the future delivery of medicine.

Equally important is the way in which the new building will be integrated with its setting. Continuing Philadelphia’s wonderful civic tradition, the design creates a new public square, a focus for all of the surrounding buildings, which will anchor Penn Medicine and create new connections between the hospital and university campus. The form of the building is very much of its place and in keeping with the architecture of the campus – its curve references the Rotunda of the Penn Museum. Furthermore, a new, more defined route from the train station to this new public square will give arriving visitors an overview of the whole Penn Hospital campus, making orientation simple and intuitive. The new addition also draws a strand of greenery into the site to connect the river and city with a physic garden – a landscape that celebrates edible, beautiful and medicinal plants.

Pavilion, University of Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania USA

View map
  • Appointment 2015
  • Completion 2021
  • Area 139,350m²
  • Client Penn Medicine
  • New Patient Pavilion, University of Pennsylvania Concrete Pour