2004 - 米洛, 法国

米约高架桥

桥梁通常被认为属于工程领域而非建筑领域,但基础设施建筑对环境具有巨大的影响。米约高架桥(Millau Viaduct)——由建筑师与结构工程师密切合作而成的项目——表明了建筑师在桥梁设计中所扮演的至关重要的角色。它仿照泰晤士河上的千禧桥的设计,用优美的结构形式完美地表达了功能、科技和美观之间的关系。

该桥坐落于法国南部,它弥补了 跨越整个中央高原的A75公路缺失的路段。由于米约高架桥的建造,A75公路成为了巴黎、地中海沿岸以及巴塞罗那之间的直接高速公路。米约高架桥跨越的塔恩河,经过两大高原中间的壮观峡谷流淌。有趣的是,根据多项其他地形调查,得出两种不同可能的结构方案:或跨河而建;或以最经济和最优雅的方式将此跨度2.46公里的在高原两侧的桥连接起来。历史上成为了景观之创造者的塔恩河在米约变得非常狭窄,所以还是第二项地形调查提出了最合适的结构解决方案。

米约高架桥是一座精致,透明的桅式斜拉桥结构,柱和柱之间的跨度为最佳长度。该建筑的建设打破了多项纪录:其采用了世界上最高的桥塔;系欧洲最高的公路桥面;也取代了艾菲尔铁塔成为法国第一高建筑物。桥的每一段长度为342米,而桥墩从75米到245米不等,桅杆在桥面以上进一步升高87米。为了应对混凝土桥面的胀缩现象,每根柱子道路下的部分分裂成两个更细更灵活的小柱子,这些柱子则形成桥面板以上的A形架。锥形柱既降低了结构载荷,又最大限度地减小了立面轮廓。这不仅使桥梁的剪影引入注目,也令其对景观的影响达到最小。高架桥七根桥塔中最高一根。

米约高架桥

米洛 法国

浏览地图
  • 预约 1993
  • 结束日期 2004
  • 客户 French Ministry of Equipment, Transport, Housing, Tourism and Sea
  • 合作建筑师 Chapelet-Defol-Mousseigne
  • 结构工程师 EEG (Europe Etudes Gecti), Sogelerg, SERF
  • 景观设计师 Agence TER
  • Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Award
  • Wallpaper Design Awards – Best New Public Building,
  • Balthasar Neumann Prize – Commendation,
  • The Building Exchange (BEX) Award – Best Use of Architectural or Structural Design in a Regeneration Scheme, 2nd Place,
  • IABSE (International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering) Outstanding Structure Award
  • Staalbouwwedstrijd / Concours Construction Acier – Winner International category,
  • Travel + Leisure Design Award for Best Infrastructure
  • D&AD Gold Award – Millau Viaduct
  • RIBA Award
  • ECCS European Award for Steel Structures
  • Singapore Construction Excellence Award - Civil Category,

Bridges are often considered to belong to the realm of the engineer rather than that of the architect. But the architecture of infrastructure has a powerful impact on the environment and the Millau Viaduct, designed in close collaboration with structural engineers, illustrates how the architect can play an integral role in the design of bridges. It follows the Millennium Bridge over the River Thames in expressing a fascination with the relationship between function, technology and aesthetics in a graceful structural form.

Located in southern France, the bridge completes a hitherto missing link in the A75 autoroute from Clermont-Ferrand to Béziers across the Massif Central. The A75 now provides a direct, high-speed route from Paris to the Mediterranean coast and on to Barcelona. The bridge crosses the River Tarn, which runs through a spectacular gorge between two high plateaux. Interestingly, alternative readings of the topography suggested two possible structural approaches: to celebrate the act of crossing the river; or to articulate the challenge of spanning the 2.46 kilometres from one plateau to the other in the most economical and elegant manner. Although historically the river was the geological generator of the landscape, it is very narrow at this point, and so it was the second reading that suggested the most appropriate structural solution.

A cable-stayed, masted structure, the bridge is delicate, transparent, and has the optimum span between columns. Its construction broke several records: it has the highest pylons in the world, the highest road bridge deck in Europe, and it superceded the Eiffel Tower as the tallest structure in France. Each of its sections spans 342 metres and its piers range in height from 75 metres to 245 metres, with the masts rising a further 87 metres above the road deck. To accommodate the expansion and contraction of the concrete deck, each column splits into two thinner, more flexible columns below the roadway, forming an A-frame above deck level. The tapered form of the columns both expresses their structural loads and minimises their profile in elevation. Not only does this give the bridge a dramatic silhouette, but crucially, it also makes the minimum intervention in the landscape.

This may be the lightest, sleekest bridge design anywhere. Framed by the surroundings, it is pure environmental sculpture.

The Washington Post

Upper Orwell Crossings
2017 - Ipswich, UK

Upper Orwell Crossings

Stansted Airport
1991 - Stansted , UK

Stansted Airport

Jeddah Metro
2016 - Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Jeddah Metro

EXPO Station
2000

EXPO Station

Panthalassa, sailing yacht
2009

Panthalassa, sailing yacht

Alen Yacht 68
2014 - Istanbul, Türkiye

Alen Yacht 68

New Slussen Masterplan
2025 - Stockholm, Sweden

New Slussen Masterplan

Thames Hub
2011 - Isle of Grain, UK

Thames Hub

Beijing Capital International Airport
2008 - Beijing, China

Beijing Capital International Airport

Ocean Terminal extension
2017 - Hong Kong, China

Ocean Terminal extension