2004 - ميللو, فرنسا

جسر ميلاو

غالبًا ما يُنظر إلى الجسور باعتبار أنها تنتمي إلى عالم الهندسة بدلاً من عالم العمارة. لكن عمارة البنية التحتية لها تأثير قوي على البيئة، و إن جسر ميلو، الذي تم تصميمه بالتعاون الوثيق مع المهندسين الإنشائيين، يعكس الدور التكاملي الذي يمكن أن يلعبه المعماري في تصميم الجسور. فهو يتبع جسر الألفية الذي يعبر نهر التيمز في التعبير عن الإهتمام بالعلاقة بين الوظيفة، والتكنولوجيا، والجماليات في شكل إنشائي أنيق.

يُكمِل الجسر الواقع في جنوب فرنساالحلقة المفقودة للطريق السريع "A75" عبر منطقة وسط ماسيف.  وحالياً يوفر هذا الطريق مساراً مباشرًا وعالي السرعة من باريس إلى ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط ومنه إلى برشلونة. ويَعبُر الجسر فوق نهر تارن الذي يمر خلال وادي مذهل بين مرتفعين عاليين. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن القراءات البديلة للسمات الجغرافية أشارت  إلى توجهين إنشائيين، الأول يقوم على الإحتفال بفعل عبور النهر، و الثاني يقوم على التعبير عن التحدي المتمثل في عبور الجسر مسافة 2.46  كم من مُرتفع لآخر بأفضل الطرق الإقتصادية و أكثرها أناقةً. وعلى الرغم من أن النهر كان السبب الرئيسي وراء تشكيل السمات الطبيعية للمنطقة عبر التاريخ، فإنه ضيق جداً في هذا الموقع، لذا تم اللجوء إلى القراءة الثانية المتمثلة في توفيرأكثر الحلول الإنشائية ملائمةً. 

يتكون الجسرمن هيكل مُعلَّق بالكابلات المدعَّمة على سواري إنشائية، مما يضفي عليه صفات الرِّقة والشفافية، كما يُوظِّف التصميم أفضل مسافة امتداد بين الأعمدة. و لقد حطمت طريقة إنشائه العديد من الأرقام القياسية: فهو يحتوي على أعلى أبراج داعمة في العالم، وأعلى منصة لجسور الطرق في أوروبا، كما أنه يفوق برج إيفل كأطول هيكل في فرنسا. فكل من مقاطعه يمتد لمسافة 342 مترًا، كما يتراوح ارتفاع ركائزه بين 75 مترًا و245 مترًا، و ترتفع السواري الإنشائية لمسافة 87 مترًا فوق سطح المنصة. و بهدف استيعاب تمدد و تقلص المنصة الخرسانية، ينقسم كل عمود إلى عمودين أقل سمكًا و أكثر مرونة أسفل مستوى الطريق، ليشكلان إطار "A" فوق مستوى المنصة. و يعبِّر الشكل المستدق للأعمدة عن الأحمال الإنشائية و يعمل على التقليل من سمك مقطعها عند رؤيتها في الواجهة. ولا يسهم هذا الأمر في إضفاء شكل أخَّاذ للجسر فحسب، لكنه يحد أيضًا من تأثيره على موقعه الطبيعي.

جسر ميلاو

ميللو فرنسا

عرض الخريطة
  • التعيين 1993
  • الإكمال 2004
  • العميل French Ministry of Equipment, Transport, Housing, Tourism and Sea
  • يتعاون المهندس المعماري Chapelet-Defol-Mousseigne
  • المهندس الإنشائي EEG (Europe Etudes Gecti), Sogelerg, SERF
  • مهندس المناظر الطبيعية Agence TER
  • Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Award
  • Staalbouwwedstrijd / Concours Construction Acier – Winner International category,
  • IABSE (International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering) Outstanding Structure Award
  • The Building Exchange (BEX) Award – Best Use of Architectural or Structural Design in a Regeneration Scheme, 2nd Place,
  • Balthasar Neumann Prize – Commendation,
  • Wallpaper Design Awards – Best New Public Building,
  • ECCS European Award for Steel Structures
  • RIBA Award
  • D&AD Gold Award – Millau Viaduct
  • Travel + Leisure Design Award for Best Infrastructure
  • Singapore Construction Excellence Award - Civil Category,

Bridges are often considered to belong to the realm of the engineer rather than that of the architect. But the architecture of infrastructure has a powerful impact on the environment and the Millau Viaduct, designed in close collaboration with structural engineers, illustrates how the architect can play an integral role in the design of bridges. It follows the Millennium Bridge over the River Thames in expressing a fascination with the relationship between function, technology and aesthetics in a graceful structural form.

Located in southern France, the bridge completes a hitherto missing link in the A75 autoroute from Clermont-Ferrand to Béziers across the Massif Central. The A75 now provides a direct, high-speed route from Paris to the Mediterranean coast and on to Barcelona. The bridge crosses the River Tarn, which runs through a spectacular gorge between two high plateaux. Interestingly, alternative readings of the topography suggested two possible structural approaches: to celebrate the act of crossing the river; or to articulate the challenge of spanning the 2.46 kilometres from one plateau to the other in the most economical and elegant manner. Although historically the river was the geological generator of the landscape, it is very narrow at this point, and so it was the second reading that suggested the most appropriate structural solution.

A cable-stayed, masted structure, the bridge is delicate, transparent, and has the optimum span between columns. Its construction broke several records: it has the highest pylons in the world, the highest road bridge deck in Europe, and it superceded the Eiffel Tower as the tallest structure in France. Each of its sections spans 342 metres and its piers range in height from 75 metres to 245 metres, with the masts rising a further 87 metres above the road deck. To accommodate the expansion and contraction of the concrete deck, each column splits into two thinner, more flexible columns below the roadway, forming an A-frame above deck level. The tapered form of the columns both expresses their structural loads and minimises their profile in elevation. Not only does this give the bridge a dramatic silhouette, but crucially, it also makes the minimum intervention in the landscape.

This may be the lightest, sleekest bridge design anywhere. Framed by the surroundings, it is pure environmental sculpture.

The Washington Post

Upper Orwell Crossings
2017 - Ipswich, UK

Upper Orwell Crossings

Stansted Airport
1991 - Stansted , UK

Stansted Airport

Jeddah Metro
2016 - Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Jeddah Metro

EXPO Station
2000

EXPO Station

Panthalassa, sailing yacht
2009

Panthalassa, sailing yacht

Alen Yacht 68
2014 - Istanbul, Türkiye

Alen Yacht 68

New Slussen Masterplan
2025 - Stockholm, Sweden

New Slussen Masterplan

Thames Hub
2011 - Isle of Grain, UK

Thames Hub

Beijing Capital International Airport
2008 - Beijing, China

Beijing Capital International Airport

Ocean Terminal extension
2017 - Hong Kong, China

Ocean Terminal extension