On 4 September 2007, at a ceremony in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, His Highness the Aga Khan awarded Foster + Partners the prestigious Aga Khan Award  for Architecture for the Petronas University of Technology, Malaysia. The building was noted for having attained the highest standards of architectural excellence while reflecting the values of their specific environment and was cited as being an "inspiring structure for progressive education".

Founded in 1977, the Award runs every three years and marks its 30th anniversary and the completion of the 10th cycle of the programme. With a triennial prize fund of US$ 500,000, it is the worlds largest architectural award.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of Muslim societies. The Award recognises examples of architectural excellence in all the places where Muslims live, in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, historic preservation, re - use and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment.

His Highness the Aga Khan has remarked "The essence of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture is to examine, analyse, understand, and try to influence the dynamic of physical change in Islamic societies. Our attempt and aspiration is to try to have the humility, but also the competence, to understand what is happening and to seek to influence it so that future generations can live in a better environment."

This year 343 projects were presented for consideration, and 27 were reviewed on site by international experts. An independent Master Jury selected nine Award recipients.

The eight other projects selected by the 2007 Award Master Jury are:

Restoration of the Amiriya Complex, Rada, Yemen
Samir Kassir Square, Beirut, Lebanon
Rehabilitation of the City of Shibam, Yemen
Central Market, Koudougou, Burkina Faso
Moulmein Rise Residential Tower, Singapore
Royal Netherlands Embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Rehabilitation of the Walled City, Nicosia, Cyprus
School in Rudrapur, Dinajpur, Bangladesh


Notes to editors

The Award is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan and are selected by an independent Master Jury appointed by the Steering Committee for each three-year Award cycle.

The Master Jury members for the 2004-2007 cycle are Homi Bhabha (Professor, Harvard University); Okwui Enwezor (Curator; Dean of Academic Affairs and Senior Vice President, San Francisco Art Institute); Homa Farjadi (Principal, Farjadi Architects, London); Sahel Al-Hiyari (Principal, Sahel Al-Hiyari and Partners, Jordan); Shirazeh Houshiary (Artist); Rashid Khalidi (Professor, Columbia University, New York); Brigitte Shim (Partner, Shim Sutcliffe Architects, Toronto); Han Tümertekin (Principal, Mimarlar Tasarim Danismanlik Ltd, Istanbul); and Kenneth Yeang (Principal, Llewelyn Davies Yeang, UK and Hamzah &Yeang, Malaysia).

For more information go to:

For information please contact:
Aga Khan Award for Architecture
P.O. Box 2049
1211 Geneva 2
Facsimile: (41.22) 909.72.92
Telephone: (41.22) 909.72.00
E-mail: akaa@akdn.org

Related Projects

Stay in touch! Hear about our latest projects, news and events.

Sorry there was a error. Please try again later. Please enter a valid email. reCAPTCHA verification failed. Please try again.

Thank you for subscribing.
Please check your email for our confirmation message.