It has been announced today (12 April 1999) in Los Angeles that Sir Norman Foster is the 1999 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The Prize brings with it a grant of $100,000 and a bronze medallion which Sir Norman will receive at a ceremony in Berlin on June 7 1999. He is only the second Briton to be awarded the prize, the first being James Stirling in 1981. There were well over 500 nominations from more than 47 countries. The final selection was made by an international jury: J. Carter Brown (Director emeritus, National Gallery of Art, Chariman, U.S. Commission of Fine Arts, Washington D.C.), Giovanni Agnelli (Chairman, Fiat, Torino, Italy), Ada Louise Huxtable (Author and Architectural Critic, New York), Toshio Nakamura (Architectural Writer, Tokyo Japan), Jorge Silvetti (Chairman Dept. of Architecture Harvard University GSD, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA), The Lord Rothschild (Former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, National Gallery and Former Chairman, National Heritage Memorial Fund, London) and the Executive Director was Bill Lacy (President, State University of New York at Purchase, New York).

Press Info

Katy Harris
Senior Partner
+44 20 7738 0455

Katy Harris

Subscribe to Foster + Partners

Enter your details to have the latest news and projects delivered to you.

Sorry there was a error. Please try again later. Please enter a valid email. reCAPTCHA verification failed. Please try again.

Thank you for subscribing.
Please check your email for our confirmation message.