ملعب ويمبلي

لندن، إنجلترا-
1996 - 2007

تم بناء ملعب ويمبلي في الأصل لمعرض الإمبراطورية البريطانية عام 1924، وبعد ذلك أصبح موقعاً للألعاب الأولمبية في عام 1948، ثم لنهائي كأس العالم لكرة القدم في عام 1966، ومن ثم صار ملعب ويمبلي من أكثر الأماكن أهمية للتسلية وممارسة الألعاب الرياضية داخل بريطانيا. وتمثل التحدي المتعلق بإعادة تجديده للقرن الجديد في البناء على تراثه الرائع، وإنشاء مكان يكون راسخاً في الذاكرة ورائعاً في حد ذاته. الملعب الجديد هو أكبر ملعب مغطى حجماً في العالم، حيث يحتوي على تسعمئة ألف مقعد، ويرتفع بمقدار أربعة أضعاف ارتفاع الملعب الأصلي ويغطي ضعف المساحة الأصلية. 

تم تصميم مرافق الملعب بهدف زيادة متعة المشاهد؛ حيث تتسم المقاعد بأنها أكبر حجماً عن ذي قبل، وذات مساحة أكبر لبسط القدمين؛ كما يسهل الوصول إلى الصفوف العليا من خلال السلالم المتحركة؛ ويمكن للساحة التي تحيط بالمبنى توفير أماكن تقديم طعام لأربعين ألف مشاهد في وقت واحد. ومن بين الأمور التي تجعل الملعب مميزاً هي السقف القابل للسحب، الذي يضمن تجربة مريحة للمشاهد في جميع أحوال الطقس. وعند فتح السقف، فهو يضمن انسياب قدر كافٍ من ضوء الشمس والهواء إلى داخل المضمار للاحتفاظ به في وضع مثالي، بينما في أحوال الطقس المتردية، يمكن غلق السقف لتغطية مدرج المقاعد بأكمله. ويتم تدعيم السقف إنشائياً من خلال قوس عالٍ بارتفاع يبلغ 133 متراً يمتد فوق الملعب. يعد القوس المضاء ليلاً بمثابة رمز قوي لملعب ويمبلي، وهو استبدال رمزي لبرجي المبنى القديم، كما يمثل معلماً مميزاً لمدينة لندن يسهل التعرف عليه على الفور. 

تم تصميم الملعب لكي يصبح مكاناً نموذجياً لممارسة رياضة كرة القدم، حيث سيكون الملعب الذي تقام فيه نهائيات كرة القدم للأولمبياد لعام 2012. ويضمن شكله الهندسي ومدرجات المقاعد المنحدرة انحداراً شديداً أن يتمتع كل مشاهد – أياً كان مكان جلوسه – بمنظر رائع للعبة بحيث لا تعوقه أي حواجز. ومن أجل خلق جو من الألفة وإنشاء "دويّ ويمبلي" المميز الذي اشتهر به الملعب القديم ذات يوم، تم توقيع المقاعد بالقرب من ساحة اللعب قدر الإمكان. ومع ذلك، تم أيضاً تصميم المبنى لتمكين التغييرات المستقبلية، فالملعب قادر على استضافة مجموعة متنوعة من الأحداث الرياضية والحفلات الموسيقية. ويمكن تهيئة الملعب، إذا لزم الأمر، لتنظيم المسابقات الدولية لألعاب المضمار والميدان وفقاً للمعايير الأوليمبية.


Location: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=51.55583,-0.27972
Area: 170 000 m²
Height: 135 m

Wembley Stadium

London, UK
1996 - 2007

Originally built for the British Empire Exhibition of 1924, and in turn the site of the Olympic Games in 1948 and the football World Cup Final in 1966, the old Wembley Stadium was the most important sports and entertainment venue in Britain. The challenge in reinventing it for a new century was to build on its extraordinary heritage and yet create a venue that would be memorable and magical in its own right. With 90,000 seats, standing almost four times the height and covering twice the area of the original, the new stadium is the largest covered arena in the world.

The stadium's facilities are designed to maximise spectator enjoyment; the seats are larger than before, with much more leg-room; the highest tiers are easily accessed via escalators; and the concourse that wraps around the building can provide catering for 40,000 spectators at any one time. One of the things that make the stadium special is the retractable roof, which ensures that the spectator experience is comfortable in all weathers. When the roof is open it ensures that the turf receives sufficient sunlight and air to keep it in perfect condition, while in poor weather it can be closed to cover the entire seating bowl. The roof is supported structurally by a 133-metre-high arch that soars above the stadium. An iconic replacement for the old building's twin towers, floodlit at night it is a strong symbol for Wembley and an instantly recognisable London landmark.

The venue for the 2012 Olympics football finals, the stadium is designed to be ideal for the sport. Its geometry and steeply raked seating tiers ensure that everyone has an unobstructed view of the game. To recreate the intimate atmosphere and the distinctive 'Wembley roar' for which the old stadium was famous, the seats are located as close to the pitch as possible. Yet the building has also been consciously future proofed, with the ability to be adapted to host a variety of events, including international track and field events up to Olympic standard if required.


Location: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=51.55583,-0.27972
Area: 170,000 m²
Height: 135 m