从最初为1924年大英帝国展览会(British Empire Exhibition)而建,到作为1948年奥运会比赛场馆,再到1966年用于足球世界杯总决赛,古老的温布利体育场无愧为英国最重要的体育和娱乐场馆。要将其重新改造成为新世纪建筑,挑战在于保留其非凡历史风貌的同时,打造一座具有纪念意义且极富个性色彩的新场馆。新场馆拥有90,000个座席,其高度几乎是原场馆的四倍,覆盖面积也比原来扩大了一倍,是当今世界面积最大的可封顶式体育场。

场馆设施的设计最大限度保证了观众的舒适度;座椅比之前更大,并且留出了更多空间供腿部活动;最高层的座位可通过自动扶梯轻松到达;而建筑外围的广场随时可供40,000人就餐。伸缩式顶蓬是新场馆的一大特色,可确保观众无论在何种天气条件下都能获得舒适的体验。顶蓬打开时可确保草皮获得足够的阳光和空气,使其处于最佳状况,而在恶劣天气下又可以关闭顶蓬,为整个观众席提供遮蔽。顶蓬以耸立于体育场上方的133米高的拱门结构作为支撑。该标志性的拱门代替了原建筑的双塔,在夜间灯火照亮下成为温布利体育场极为抢眼的象征符号,也成为伦敦天际线上最显著的地标。

作为2012年奥运会指定的足球决赛场地,新场馆的设计目标是打造一座理想的足球场。其陡峭倾斜的看台设计符合几何学原理,确保观众无论处于哪个位置,均可将赛场景象尽收眼底。为再现旧体育场著名的热烈气氛和富有特色的“温布利呐喊”,座椅的位置尽可能地接近球场。然而在新场馆设计过程中我们还考虑到了未来的需求,使之能够承办各种体育赛事和音乐活动。必要时,球场经过调整甚至可供举办奥运标准的国际田径比赛。

草稿和图纸

开发项目

施工项目

报价

The stadium [Wembley] is approached along an axial approach which showcases the arched structure supporting the roof. The arch works immensely well both in terms of its immediate and long distance scale as an icon - it is an enormously successful London landmark. At a functional level the building appears to work with exemplary efficiency. It is an outstanding

practical achievement.”RIBA National Award citation, 2008

事实和数据

  • 预约: 1996
  • 结束日期: 2007
  • 地区: 170 000m²
  • 高度: 135m
  • 容量: 90000
  • 客户: Wembley National Stadium Limited
  • 合作建筑师: World Stadium Team: Foster + Partners and Populous
  • 结构工程师: Mott Stadium Consortium
  • 工料测量师: Franklin and Andrews
  • 机电工程师: Mott Stadium Consortium

奖项s

  • World Architecture Festival, High Commendation (Sport category)
  • LABC National Built in Quality Awards – Overall Winner
  • LABC National Built in Quality Awards – Best Commercial Project
  • RIBA National Award
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Commercial Project
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Structural Innovation
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Fire Engineering Innovation
  • RIBA Award,
  • Vodafone Live Music Awards – Best Live Music Venue,

相关新闻:

Originally built for the British Empire Exhibition of 1924, and in turn the site of the Olympic Games in 1948 and the football World Cup Final in 1966, the old Wembley Stadium was the most important sports and entertainment venue in Britain. The challenge in reinventing it for a new century was to build on its extraordinary heritage and yet create a venue that would be memorable and magical in its own right. With 90,000 seats, standing almost four times the height and covering twice the area of the original, the new stadium is the largest covered arena in the world.

The stadium's facilities are designed to maximise spectator enjoyment; the seats are larger than before, with much more leg-room; the highest tiers are easily accessed via escalators; and the concourse that wraps around the building can provide catering for 40,000 spectators at any one time. One of the things that make the stadium special is the retractable roof, which ensures that the spectator experience is comfortable in all weathers. When the roof is open it ensures that the turf receives sufficient sunlight and air to keep it in perfect condition, while in poor weather it can be closed to cover the entire seating bowl. The roof is supported structurally by a 133-metre-high arch that soars above the stadium. An iconic replacement for the old building's twin towers, floodlit at night it is a strong symbol for Wembley and an instantly recognisable London landmark.

The venue for the 2012 Olympics football finals, the stadium is designed to be ideal for the sport. Its geometry and steeply raked seating tiers ensure that everyone has an unobstructed view of the game. To recreate the intimate atmosphere and the distinctive 'Wembley roar' for which the old stadium was famous, the seats are located as close to the pitch as possible. Yet the building has also been consciously future proofed, with the ability to be adapted to host a variety of events, including international track and field events up to Olympic standard if required.

Sketches + Drawings

Development

Construction

Quote

RIBA National Award citation

“The stadium [Wembley] is approached along an axial approach which showcases the arched structure supporting the roof. The arch works immensely well both in terms of its immediate and long distance scale as an icon - it is an enormously successful London landmark. At a functional level the building appears to work with exemplary efficiency. It is an outstanding, practical achievement.”

2008

Facts + Figures

  • Appointment: 1996
  • Completion: 2007
  • Area: 170,000m²
  • Height: 135m
  • Capacity: 90,000
  • Client: Wembley National Stadium Limited
  • Collaborating Architect: World Stadium Team: Foster + Partners and Populous
  • Structural Engineer: Mott Stadium Consortium
  • Quantity Surveyor: Franklin and Andrews
  • M+E Engineer: Mott Stadium Consortium

Awards

  • World Architecture Festival, High Commendation (Sport category)
  • LABC National Built in Quality Awards – Overall Winner
  • LABC National Built in Quality Awards – Best Commercial Project
  • RIBA National Award
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Commercial Project
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Structural Innovation
  • London District Surveyors Association Quality Awards, Best Fire Engineering Innovation
  • RIBA Award,
  • Vodafone Live Music Awards – Best Live Music Venue,

Related Press Release: