الكورنيش هو مشروع متعدد الاستخدامات مكون من ثلاثة أبراج مميزة بطول حاجز ألبرت Albert Embankment على الضفة الجنوبية من نهر التايمز في مواجهة مبنى البرلمان. وتتراوح ارتفاعات المباني ما بين 15 إلى 27 دورًا وتوفر 253 شقة تشمل منازل بأسعار معقولة لسكنى كبار السن بالإضافة إلى مكاتب ومطاعم وحانة للسكان وصالة ألعاب رياضية وحمام سباحة ومنتجع. وتسهم المباني في التجديد واسع النطاق لمنطقة مشروع ناين إلمز Nine Elms الذي تبلغ مساحته 195 هكتارا ويقع بين جسر لامبث وجسر تشيلسي والذي يتكون من 16000 منزل جديد، ويمثل المشروع أكبر مبادرة حضرية من نوعها في أوروبا.

صُممت الشقق من الداخل للخارج حيث تحدد الوحدات السكنية النسب والحجم النحيف لكل مبنى بينما تمتد المساحات الكبيرة للمعيشة إلى الخلجان العميقة وهو ما يضفي على المخطط طابعه المميز. وفي الوقت نفسه، تراعي الاستجابة المعمارية نطاق الهياكل المجاورة وسكانها والمواد المكونة لها. وتشكل الشرفات مناظر بانورامية خلابة - وبعكس الأسيجة التقليدية التي تشبه الصناديق، فإن الحدائق المقوسة في السماء تتيح مناظر تشبه "السينما سكوب" للنهر والبرلمان. ويعزز الشكل منحني الأضلاع زخرفة معدنية عالية الانعكاس مصممة لجذب أشعة الشمس.

وفي الطوابق الأرضية، تبتعد ردهة المدخل التي يغمرها الضوء عن الطريق لتخلق إحساسا دراميا بالوصول. ويشمل المشروع مطاعم وحدائق هادئة، مغطاة ومحمية من الطريق من خلال خاصية المياه الطبيعية ووجود أماكن للجلوس. سينعش المزيج الديناميكي من الأنشطة الموجودة في الخطة، التي تجمع أماكن العمل مع الأماكن العامة الجديدة والمرافق المجتمعية والمساكن الرائعة، ويغيِّر من شكل الواجهة البحرية الواقعة في قلب المدينة.

التشييد

الحقائق والأرقام

  • التعيين: 2012
  • المنطقة: 33000m²
  • الارتفاع: 85m
  • العميل: St James Group Ltd
  • المهندس الإنشائي: Davies, Maguire + Whitby
  • مهندس M+E: Hoare Lea
  • مهندس المناظر الطبيعية: Townshend Landscape Architects

The Corniche is a mixed-use development of three landmark towers along the Albert Embankment on the south bank of the River Thames, opposite the Houses of Parliament. The buildings range from 15 to 27 storeys in height and provide 253 apartments, including affordable homes for senior living, along with offices, restaurants and a residents’ bar, gym, pool and spa. They contribute to the wider regeneration of the Nine Elms development zone, a 195-hectare development between LambethBridge and ChelseaBridge of 16,000 new homes, which represents the largest urban initiative of its kind in Europe.

The apartments are designed from the inside-out, as the residential units define the proportions and slender volumes of each building, and the generous living spaces extend into the deep bays that give the scheme its distinctive character. At the same time, the architectural response is sensitive to the scale, massing and materials of neighbouring structures. The balconies frame spectacular panoramic views – unlike typical box-like enclosures, the curved gardens in the sky allow wide, ‘cinemascope’ perspectives of the river and Parliament. Their curvilinear form is further emphasised by highly reflective, metallic detailing, designed to catch the sunlight.

At ground level, the light filled entrance lobby is set back from the road to create a dramatic sense of arrival. The development includes restaurants and tranquil gardens, which are screened and protected from the road by a landscaped water feature and seating areas. Combining places to work with new public spaces, community facilities and exceptional residences, the scheme’s dynamic mixture of activities will reinvigorate and transform the waterfront in the heart of the city.

Construction

Facts + Figures

  • Appointment: 2012
  • Area: 33,000m²
  • Client: St James Group Ltd
  • Structural Engineer: Davies, Maguire + Whitby
  • M+E Engineer: Hoare Lea
  • Landscape Architect: Townshend Landscape Architects