天弓大厦The Bow是卡尔加里市中心主轴——中央大街(Centre Street——东侧两个街区重建规划的第一期工程。作为一家大型能源公司的总部,该大厦的造型经过了环境学和结构学的论证。大厦面而立,以曲面朝向太阳,以便充分利用太阳光及热能。同时,赋予其“天弓”之名的弓形结构最大化拓宽了分格式办公室的视野,将洛基山脉(Rocky Mountains)的风景尽收眼底。

通过让凸圆形的立面朝向盛行风,大厦的结构载荷得到了最大程度的降低,从而也减少了其固有的高效斜肋架构系统所需的钢材用量。其斜肋架构(其中每个三角形斜肋结构跨幅为六层楼)同时还帮助从视觉上缩小了大厦的规模。在大楼向内弯曲的一面,其玻璃立面向前凸出,形成一系列与大厦齐高的中庭。这些空间充当了气候缓冲区,为建筑提供隔热保护并且帮助降低大约30%的能耗。由于每层楼的面积均按容纳一个完整业务单位的规格设计,这就需要促进各单位之间的协作,并在办公区域内创造社交空间。因此,连接各办公楼层的垂直通道从三座空中花园(分别位于24层、42层和54层)穿过。这些公共空间内绿树成荫,并且设有座椅、会议室及本层电梯井。除天井内配各种员工设施外,大厦顶层还设有一间礼堂。

天弓大厦The Bow236米,是卡尔加里市最高的大楼,但大楼低层与周围建筑之间建立的横向连接也同样十分重要。卡尔加里市有着纵横交错的封闭式人行道系统,为市民提供了严冬里暂避风寒的地方,而大厦这些通道有三个交汇处。大厦的第二层向公众开放,并且集合了商店和咖啡馆,其横跨中央大街的唯一公共连接点使大厦成为连接市中心通道网络的重要纽带。

开发项目

施工项目

事实和数据

  • 预约: 2005
  • 结束日期: 2013
  • 地区: 199 781m²
  • 高度: 239m
  • 客户: Matthews Southwest Developments Limited
  • 合作建筑师: Zeidler Partnership Architects
  • 结构工程师: Halcrow Yolles
  • 工料测量师: Altus Helier (Partial)
  • 机电工程师: Cosentini
  • 景观设计师: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol (Carson McCulloch - Local)
  • 照明工程师: Claude Engle Lighting Design
  • 其他顾问: Sturgess Architecture, DA Watt, KJA, Kellam Berg, Cerami, Gensler, Cygnus, leber Rubes, Transolar, RWDI, Brook Van Dalen, Leber Rubes, Hayes Davidson

奖项s

  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction National Award
  • Alberta Chapter American Concrete Institute Awards of Excellence
  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Ontario Awards, Award of Excellence
  • Alberta Steel Design Awards of Excellence

相关新闻:

The Bow is the first phase of a mixed-use masterplan for the regeneration of two entire city blocks on the east side of Centre Street, a major axis through downtown Calgary. Providing a headquarters for a major energy company, its form was shaped by both environmental and organisational analysis. The tower faces south, curving towards the sun to take advantage of daylight and heat, while the resulting bow-shaped plan that gives the tower its name maximises the perimeter for cellular offices with views of the Rocky Mountains.

By turning the convex facade into the prevailing wind, the structural loading is minimised, so reducing the amount of steel required for the inherently efficient diagrid structural system. The diagrid structure, in which each triangulated section unifies six storeys, also helps to break down the scale of the building visually. Where the building curves inwards, the glazed facade is pulled forward to create a series of atria that run the full height of the tower. These spaces act as climatic buffer zones, insulating the building and helping to reduce energy consumption by approximately 30 per cent. As each floor plate has been sized to accommodate a whole business unit, there was a need to promote collaboration and bring a social dimension to the office spaces. Vertical access to the office floors is therefore directed through three sky gardens, which project into the atria at levels 24, 42 and 54. These communal spaces feature mature trees, seating, meeting rooms and local lift cores. Staff facilities in the atria are complemented by an auditorium at the very top of the building.

At 236 metres The Bow is the tallest tower in Calgary, but it is equally significant in terms of the lateral connections it establishes with the surrounding buildings at its lower levels. Calgary is criss-crossed by a system of enclosed walkways which offers a retreat from the city's harsh winters and the tower is fused to these routes at three points. The second floor is open to the public and integrates shops and cafes, and with the only public connection over Centre Street, the scheme completes a vital link in the downtown network.



Facts + Figures

  • Appointment: 2005
  • Completion: 2013
  • Area: 199,781m²
  • Height: 239m
  • Client: Matthews Southwest Developments Limited
  • Collaborating Architect: Zeidler Partnership Architects
  • Structural Engineer: Halcrow Yolles
  • Quantity Surveyor: Altus Helier (Partial)
  • M+E Engineer: Cosentini
  • Landscape Architect: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol (Carson McCulloch - Local)
  • Lighting Engineer: Claude Engle Lighting Design
  • Additional Consultants: Sturgess Architecture, DA Watt, KJA, Kellam Berg, Cerami, Gensler, Cygnus, leber Rubes, Transolar, RWDI, Brook Van Dalen, Leber Rubes, Hayes Davidson


  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction National Award
  • Alberta Chapter American Concrete Institute Awards of Excellence
  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Ontario Awards, Award of Excellence
  • Alberta Steel Design Awards of Excellence
  • Emporis ‘World’s Most Spectacular Corporate Building’

Related Press Release: