مبنى القوس هو المرحلة الأولى من المخطط الرئيسي لتجديد اثنتين من تجمعات مباني المدينة بالكامل على الجانب الشرقي من شارع سنتر، وهو محور رئيسي عبر قلب مدينة كالجاري. ونظراً لأن المبنى يوفر مقراً رئيسياً لشركة كبرى تعمل في مجال الطاقة، فقد تشكلت هيئته وفقاً لتحاليل بيئية و تنظيمية.  يواجه البرج جهة الجنوب، ويبدو منحنياً باتجاه الشمس للاستفادة من ضوء النهار والحرارة، بينما يعمل المخطط الأفقي الذي يتخذ شكل القوس، والذي يتوافق مع اسم البرج، على زيادة المساحة المحيطة للمكاتب الخلوية المطله على جبال الروكي.

من خلال توجيه الواجهة المحدبة باتجاه الرياح السائدة، يتم تقليل الحمل الإنشائي على المبنى، مما ينتج عنه تقليل كمية الفولاذ اللازمة للنظام الإنشائي للشبكة المائلة ذات الشكل الهندسي الكفؤ. ويساعد إنشاء الشبكة المائل أيضاً على تقسيم كتلة المبنى بصرياً، حيث يُوحِّد فيه كل قسم مثلثي الشكل ستة من طوابق المبنى. فعندما يتقوس المبنى نحو الداخل، تنسحب الواجهة المزججة إلى الأمام لتوفير مجموعة من الأفنية التي تمتد على ارتفاع البرج بالكامل. وتعمل هذه الفضاءات كمناطق مناخية عازلة، تعمل على عزل المبنى وتساعد في تقليل استهلاك الطاقة بنسبة 30 في المئة تقريباً. وقد تم تنظيم كل مسطح طابقي لكي يستوعب وحدة عمل كاملة، مما دعا إلى الحاجة إلى تشجيع التعاون وتوفير بُعد اجتماعي لفضاءات المكاتب. ولذلك، يتم الاسترشاد بحدائق ثلاث مفتوحة على السماء للوصول إلى طوابق المكاتب، وتبرز هذه الحدائق في الأفنية الواقعة في الطوابق رقم 24، و42، و54. وتتميز هذه الفراغات المشتركة بالأشجار الناضجة، والمقاعد، وقاعات الاجتماعات، وآبار المصاعد الداخلية. ويلحق بمرافق الموظفين الموجودة في الأفنية مسرح في أعلى المبنى.

يعتبر برج القوس الذي يبلغ طوله 236 متراً أطول برج في مدينة كالجاري، لكنه يتساوى في أهميته فيما يتعلق بالروابط الجانبية التي يُؤسِّسها مع المباني المحيطة على مستوى الطوابق السفلية. يقطع مدينة كالجاري نظام مكون من مسارات المشاة المغلقة، مما يوفر مأوى من فصول الشتاء القارصة بالمدينة، ويرتبط البرج بهذه المسارات عند ثلاث نقاط رئيسية. يكون الطابق الثاني من المبنى مفتوحاً أمام العامة، ويضم محلات تجارية ومقاهي، فيشكل مبنى القوس الصلة الوحيدة لمرور العامة على طول شارع سنتر، ويكمل رابطاً حيوياً في شبكة وسط المدينة التجاري.

التطوير

التشييد

الحقائق والأرقام

  • التعيين: 2005
  • الإكمال: 2013
  • المنطقة: 199 781m²
  • الارتفاع: 239m
  • العميل: Matthews Southwest Developments Limited
  • يتعاون المهندس المعماري: Zeidler Partnership Architects
  • المهندس الإنشائي: Halcrow Yolles
  • المساح: Altus Helier (Partial)
  • مهندس M+E: Cosentini
  • مهندس المناظر الطبيعية: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol (Carson McCulloch - Local)
  • مهندس إضاءة: Claude Engle Lighting Design
  • الاستشاريين إضافية: Sturgess Architecture, DA Watt, KJA, Kellam Berg, Cerami, Gensler, Cygnus, leber Rubes, Transolar, RWDI, Brook Van Dalen, Leber Rubes, Hayes Davidson

الجوائزs

  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction National Award
  • Alberta Chapter American Concrete Institute Awards of Excellence
  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Ontario Awards, Award of Excellence
  • Alberta Steel Design Awards of Excellence

الإصدارات الصحفية ذات الصلة:

The Bow is the first phase of a mixed-use masterplan for the regeneration of two entire city blocks on the east side of Centre Street, a major axis through downtown Calgary. Providing a headquarters for a major energy company, its form was shaped by both environmental and organisational analysis. The tower faces south, curving towards the sun to take advantage of daylight and heat, while the resulting bow-shaped plan that gives the tower its name maximises the perimeter for cellular offices with views of the Rocky Mountains.

By turning the convex facade into the prevailing wind, the structural loading is minimised, so reducing the amount of steel required for the inherently efficient diagrid structural system. The diagrid structure, in which each triangulated section unifies six storeys, also helps to break down the scale of the building visually. Where the building curves inwards, the glazed facade is pulled forward to create a series of atria that run the full height of the tower. These spaces act as climatic buffer zones, insulating the building and helping to reduce energy consumption by approximately 30 per cent. As each floor plate has been sized to accommodate a whole business unit, there was a need to promote collaboration and bring a social dimension to the office spaces. Vertical access to the office floors is therefore directed through three sky gardens, which project into the atria at levels 24, 42 and 54. These communal spaces feature mature trees, seating, meeting rooms and local lift cores. Staff facilities in the atria are complemented by an auditorium at the very top of the building.

At 236 metres The Bow is the tallest tower in Calgary, but it is equally significant in terms of the lateral connections it establishes with the surrounding buildings at its lower levels. Calgary is criss-crossed by a system of enclosed walkways which offers a retreat from the city's harsh winters and the tower is fused to these routes at three points. The second floor is open to the public and integrates shops and cafes, and with the only public connection over Centre Street, the scheme completes a vital link in the downtown network.



Facts + Figures

  • Appointment: 2005
  • Completion: 2013
  • Area: 199,781m²
  • Height: 239m
  • Client: Matthews Southwest Developments Limited
  • Collaborating Architect: Zeidler Partnership Architects
  • Structural Engineer: Halcrow Yolles
  • Quantity Surveyor: Altus Helier (Partial)
  • M+E Engineer: Cosentini
  • Landscape Architect: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol (Carson McCulloch - Local)
  • Lighting Engineer: Claude Engle Lighting Design
  • Additional Consultants: Sturgess Architecture, DA Watt, KJA, Kellam Berg, Cerami, Gensler, Cygnus, leber Rubes, Transolar, RWDI, Brook Van Dalen, Leber Rubes, Hayes Davidson


  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction National Award
  • Alberta Chapter American Concrete Institute Awards of Excellence
  • Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Ontario Awards, Award of Excellence
  • Alberta Steel Design Awards of Excellence
  • Emporis ‘World’s Most Spectacular Corporate Building’

Related Press Release: