斯皮罗内维斯特沃特美术馆是纽约的顶级美术馆之一,收藏有多位国际知名艺术家的作品。这家著名的商业美术馆从西第13大街搬到曼哈顿下东区的鲍厄里(Bowery)——一个曾因其厨具店而蜚声一方的地区,代表了作为一处艺术中心,该地区重改造的重要里程碑。这座新建筑与鲍厄(Bowery)充满活力的城市个性相呼应的同时,也表达了这样一个愿望——提高参观者一贯在美术馆欣赏艺术的体验。

狭窄的项目场地仅为25 x 100英尺(7.6 x 30.5 米),是鲍厄里(Bowery)众多地块中的典型。这就导致该建筑自然地强调其垂直结构。其焦点是一个12 x 20英尺(3.6 x 6米)的活动房间,该房间既是美术馆动态特性的物理响应,也为街道增添了活力元素。美术馆被包裹在一个明亮的红盒子内,渐渐升高,连接上部的四个楼层,并可通过打磨过的半透明玻璃外立面看到里面,其温和的节奏与城市活动和外面的交通形成了鲜明对比。其灵活的空间布置使得展览空间可在任何一个楼层通过泊停活动房间得以延伸,同时,一部新增的电梯和楼梯将提供令一种在建筑内穿行的路线。活动房间外露的混凝土和机件管井在审美和规模上与该建筑所处的环境相符合;尽管其处于变迁过程,确仍具有高度工业化的风格。此外,房间升高的体量为美术馆提供了一个保温和隔音的缓冲区。

参观者进入一处两层高的展览空间,并上升到夹层,从夹层的一端向外看去是雕塑露台和花园,另一端则通往活动房间。该布局为人在整座建筑内提供向上的景观,形成自然的方向感,激发了人们的探索兴趣。建筑的外部形状与其周边环境和谐统一,并突现出不断变化的内部功能,第五层的外墙缩进至与附近的住宅房屋区的女儿墙成一条直线,标出美术馆办公室的所在位置。

草稿和图纸

事实和数据

  • 预约: 2008
  • 结束日期: 2010
  • 地区: 1 858m²
  • 客户: Sperone Westwater
  • 合作建筑师: Adamson Associates
  • 结构工程师: Buro Happold
  • 工料测量师: Sciame
  • 机电工程师: Buro Happold
  • 照明工程师: Buro Happold
  • 其他顾问: Edgett Williams, JAM Consultants Inc.

奖项s

  • RIBA International Award
  • New York Municipal Art Society’s MASterworks Award for Best New Building
  • AIA New York Architecture Merit Award

相关新闻:

获得指引

办公时间:

Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 6 pm

网站:

speronewestwater.com

Sperone Westwater is one of New York's leading galleries, with a roster of major international artists. The relocation of such an established commercial gallery from West 13th Street to the Bowery in Manhattan's Lower East Side, an area once known for its kitchen equipment shops, represents a significant milestone in the district's reinvention as an artistic hub. This new building is both a response to the Bowery's dynamic urban character and a desire to rethink the way in which the viewer traditionally engages with art in the context of a gallery.

The narrow site, which measures just 25 x 100 feet (7.6 x 30.5 metres), is typical of lots in the Bowery. The result is a building whose verticality is naturally emphasised. Its focal point is a 12 x 20 foot (3 x 6-metre) moving room, which is both a physical response to the gallery's dynamic programme and a kinetic addition to the street. Contained within a bright red box, the gallery rises gradually to connect the upper four floors and is visible through the translucent, milled glass facade, its gentle pace contrasting with the activity of the city and traffic outside. In a flexible spatial arrangement, the exhibition space can be extended at any given floor by parking the moving room, whereupon an additional lift and stairs provide alternative routes up through the building. The room's exposed concrete shaft and mechanics draw on an aesthetic and scale appropriate to the building's context which, albeit in transition, remains largely industrial, while the volume in which the room rises provides a thermal and acoustic buffer zone for the galleries.

Visitors enter a double-height exhibition space and move up to a mezzanine level, which looks out on to a sculpture terrace and garden at one end and leads to the moving room on the other. This arrangement creates views up through the building, promoting a natural sense of orientation and encouraging exploration. The building's external form relates to the scale of its neighbours and articulates the changing internal functions, the setback at sixth-floor level aligning with the parapet of the adjacent tenement blocks and marking the location of the gallery offices.

Sketches + Drawings

Facts + Figures

  • Appointment: 2008
  • Completion: 2010
  • Area: 1,858m²
  • Client: Sperone Westwater
  • Collaborating Architect: Adamson Associates
  • Structural Engineer: Buro Happold
  • Quantity Surveyor: Sciame
  • M+E Engineer: Buro Happold
  • Lighting Engineer: Buro Happold
  • Additional Consultants: Edgett Williams, JAM Consultants Inc.

Awards

  • RIBA International Award
  • New York Municipal Art Society’s MASterworks Award for Best New Building
  • AIA New York Architecture Merit Award

Related Press Release:

Get Directions

Opening Hours:

Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 6 pm

Website:

speronewestwater.com