يحتل معهد سميثسونيان مبنى تسجيل براءات الاختراع الأمريكي السابق، الذي وصفه الشاعر والت ويتمان بأنه "أعرق مبنى في واشنطن". وقد تم تشييد هذا المبنى في الفترة ما بين عامي 1836 و1867، وهو يعد أفضل مثال على عمارة النهضة اليونانية في الولايات المتحدة، كما يمثل جزءًا بارزًا من النسيج الحضري للعاصمة.  وقد أنقذ الرئيس أيزنهاور هذا المبنى، الذي تم تصنيفه الآن كمعلم تاريخي ووطني، من تدمير وشيك في عام 1958 ، فقام بمنحه إلى معهد سميثسونيان ليتم استخدامه كمعهد الصور الوطني، ومتحفَ سميثسونيان للفن الأمريكي. و قد نبعت فكرة سقف فضاء الفناء الرئيسي الكبير للمبنى من الرغبة في تحويل تجربة زيارة العامة لمعارض سميثسونيان، وتزويد المعهد بأحد أكبر الفضاءات لإقامة الفعاليات في واشنطن.

علاوةً على ما سبق، يشكل فضاء الفناء حجر الزاوية في برنامج ترميم المبنى طويل المدى، و الذي يتضمن أيضًا إعادة تصميم المعارض  لتقديم عروض تفاعلية معاصرة، وإضافة مختبر حفظ و صيانة، وقاعة محاضرات، وفضاء للمعارض تمت توسعته بشكل كبير. يمكن أن يدخل الزوار إلى المعارض المحيطة من خلال الفناء، كما يستضيف الفضاء باستمرار مجموعة متنوعة من الأحداث الاجتماعية، بما في ذلك الحفلات الموسيقية والعروض الأدائية للعامة، وذلك خارج الأوقات المخصصة لاستقبال زوار المتحف. تتخذ مظلة السقف المزججة شكلاً انسيبياً، و تسمح بانسياب الإضاءة الطبيعية إلى داخل ساحة الفناء، و قد صممت بهدف "تحقيق الكثير بأقل القليل"، بحيث تعمل على تطوير الأفكار البيئية والإنشائية التي تم استكشافها لأول مرة في تصميم سقف الفناء الكبير بالمتحف البريطاني. 

ومن الناحية الإنشائية، يتكون السقف من ثلاث أقبية مترابطة تتداخل مع بعضها البعض من خلال "وديان" مقوسة.  تستقر الألواح ذات التزجيج المزدوج داخل شبكة مائلة من الشرائح العمودية وتكسوها مواد ذات خواص صوتية، لتشكل معًا قشرة هيكلية صلبة لا تتطلب سوى دعمها بثمانية أعمدة. و من الناحية البصرية، يرتفع السقف أعلى جدران المبنى القائم، مما يعمل على تمييز الشكل الجديد عن القديم. تظهر هذه المظلة عند رؤيتها و هي مضيئة وكأنها تطفو فوق مبنى تسجيل براءات الاختراع، مما يرمز إلى المكانة الثقافية لمعهد سميثسونيان ويمنح حياة جديدة لهذا المعلم الشهير في واشنطن.

الرسوم التخطيطية + الرسومات

التطوير

التشييد

الاقتباسات

This courtyard is a gift to the entire nation

as well as the nation's capital. It will enable the Smithsonian to expand its services to all visitors by creating a uniquely beautiful location for exciting events, special programs and quiet contemplation.”Cristián Samper, Acting Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

الحقائق والأرقام

  • التعيين: 2004
  • الإكمال: 2007
  • المنطقة: (canopy) 2 601m²
  • العميل: Smithsonian Institution
  • يتعاون المهندس المعماري: Smith Group Inc.
  • المهندس الإنشائي: Buro Happold
  • المساح: Davis Langdon LLP
  • مهندس M+E: URS Corporation
  • مهندس المناظر الطبيعية: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd
  • مهندس إضاءة: George Sexton Associates
  • الاستشاريين إضافية: Battle McCarthy, Sandy Brown Associates, Shen Milsom Wilke, Emmer Pfenninger Partner, Davis Langdon Schumann Smith, Sandberg, Josef Gartner USA

الجوائزs

  • Building Stone Institute Tucker Design Award
  • World Architecture Festival, Best ‘New & Old’ project
  • Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Award
  • Washington Building Congress Craftsmanship Award

الإصدارات الصحفية ذات الصلة:

Foster + Partners

It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting.
fosterandpartners.com requires JavaScript.

Design Services

About Us

Projects

Data

Careers

Contact

News

View Image Gallery

Download Project PDF

The Smithsonian Institution occupies the former United States Patent Building, described by Walt Whitman as 'the noblest of Washington buildings'. Built between 1836 and 1867, the Patent Building is the finest example of Greek Revival architecture in the United States and a celebrated part of the capital's urban fabric. Now designated a National Historic Landmark, the building was rescued from demolition in 1958 by President Eisenhower, who transferred it to the Smithsonian to house the National Portrait Gallery and the Smithsonian American Art Museum. The enclosure of the building's grand central courtyard was prompted by a desire to transform the public's experience of the Smithsonian's galleries and create one of the largest event spaces in Washington

The courtyard forms the centrepiece of the building's long-term renovation programme, which included the redesign of the galleries with contemporary interactive displays, the addition of a conservation laboratory, an auditorium and greatly increased exhibition space. Visitors can enter the surrounding galleries from the courtyard, and out of museum hours the space regularly hosts a variety of social events, including concerts and public performances. Designed to do 'the most with the least', the fluid-form, fully glazed roof canopy develops structural and environmental themes first explored in the design of the roof of the Great Court at the British Museum, bathing the courtyard in daylight.

Structurally, the roof is composed of three interconnected vaults that flow into one another through softly curved valleys. The double-glazed panels are set within a diagrid of fins, clad in acoustic material, which together form a rigid shell that needs to be supported by only eight columns. Visually, the roof is raised above the walls of the existing building, clearly articulating new and old. Seen illuminated at night, this canopy appears to float above the Patent Building, symbolising the cultural importance of the Smithsonian Institution and giving new life to a popular Washington landmark.

“This courtyard is a gift to the entire nation, as well as the nation's capital. It will enable the Smithsonian to expand its services to all visitors by creating a uniquely beautiful location for exciting events, special programs and quiet contemplation.” Cristián Samper, Acting Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

Appointment: 2004
Completion: 2007

Area: (canopy) 2 601m²

Client: Smithsonian Institution

Collaborating Architect: Smith Group Inc.

Structural Engineer: Buro Happold
Quantity Surveyor: Davis Langdon LLP
M+E Engineer: URS Corporation
Landscape Architect: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd
Lighting Engineer: George Sexton Associates

Additional Consultants: Battle McCarthy, Sandy Brown Associates, Shen Milsom Wilke, Emmer Pfenninger Partner, Davis Langdon Schumann Smith, Sandberg, Josef Gartner USA

Awards

  • Building Stone Institute Tucker Design Award
  • World Architecture Festival, Best ‘New & Old’ project
  • Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Award
  • Washington Building Congress Craftsmanship Award

Related Press Release

Foster + Partners wins best New and Old and two high commendations at the World Architecture Festival
27.10.2008

The Smithsonian Institution Courtyard opens to the public
16.11.2007

The Smithsonian Institution tops out
25.07.2006

Smithsonian Selects Norman Foster to Design New Atrium for Historic Home of Two Museums
15.03.2004