نشأ تصميم جسر الألفية من التعاون المُبدع بين كل من مجالات العمارة، والفن، والهندسة. وقد كان هذا العمل حصيلة إحدى المسابقات الدولية، و تم تطويره بالتعاون مع النحَّات أنتوني كارو ومهندسي شركة آروب. ويعمل هذا الجسر على ربط منطقة المدينة وكاتدرائية القديس بولس شمالاً بمسرح جلوب ومتحف تيت مودرن في منطقة بانكسايد جنوبًا. ويُعد هذا الجسر هو جسرالمشاة الوحيد في لندن، وأول معبر جديد يُنشأ  في هذا الطرف من نهر التيمز منذ أكثر من قرن من الزمان. و يُشكِّل الجسر عنصراً أساسيّاً في هيكل البنية التحتية للمشاة في لندن، فقد ساهم في خلق طرق جديدة تؤدّي إلى بلديَّة ساوثورك، و ساهم في تحفيز حياة جديدة على واجهة النهر بمحاذاة كاتدرائية القديس بولس. 

من الناحية الإنشائية، يتخطى الجسر حدود التكنولوجيا المعاصرة. فهو عبارة عن جسر معلق ضحل للغاية يمتد لمسافة 320 مترًا. فالإطاران الخارجيان اللذان يتخذان شكل الحرف Y يدعمان ثمانية كابلات تمر على طول جانبي المنصة التي يبلغ عرضها 4 أمتار، في حين يتم تثبيت الأذرع المستعرضة الفولاذية بهذه الكابلات كل 8 أمتار لدعم المنصة ذاتها. و يؤدي هذا الهيكل المُستحدث إلى عدم الحاجة لإرتفاع الكابلات لمسافة أكبر من 2.3 متر فوق مستوى منصة الجسر، مما يسمح للمارة بالاستمتاع بمشاهدة مناظر بانورامية دون إنقطاع، فضلاً عن الحفاظ على خطوط الرؤية من المباني المحيطة على ضفتي النهر. ونتيجة لذلك، يتمتع الجسر بمقطع رفيع، ليُشكل قوسًا نحيلاً عبر النهر. فيصبح الجسر كشريط فضي رقيق من الفولاذ خلال النهار، وخلال الليل تتم إنارته ليُشكل "نصلاً برَّاقاً من الضوء".

تم افتتاح الجسر في شهر حزيران عام 2000، و قد عبره عدد مذهل من الأفراد بلغ 100 ألف شخص في أثناء أولى عطلات نهاية الأسبوع.  و لكن بسبب حركة المرور الكثيفة هذه، تعرض الجسر لحركة جانبية أكثر مما كان متوقعًا، ونتيجة لذلك تم إغلاقه بصورة مؤقتة. وقد أشارت الأبحاث والتجارب المكثفة إلى أن سبب هذه الحركة يرجع إلى تزامن وقع أقدام المارة  ــــ وهي ظاهرة لم يُعرف عنها من قبل إلَّا القليل في عالم الهندسة. وقد تمثل الحل في وضع مخمدات أسفل المنصة للتخفيف من حدة الحركة. و أثبتت هذه الطريقة نجاحًا كبيرًا، وقد أسفرت الأبحاث التي أجراها المهندسون عن تغييرات في قواعد بناء الجسور في جميع أنحاء العالم.

الرسوم التخطيطية + الرسومات

التطوير

التشييد

الاقتباسات

Close up

it [the Millennium Bridge] is a wonderful assembly of almost organic components, that provide an ever-changing composition which reminds one of a 21st century version of something which could be seen in the natural history museum. A truly great addition to this historic river and city.”2003 RIBA Award citation

The bridge is a combination of technology and style .. It is not the cheapest way o getting across a river. It is a balance between efficiency

cost and beauty. That balance is emotional, it is not rational.”Tony Fitzpatrick, of Arup, quoted in Building design, 31 March 2000

الحقائق والأرقام

  • التعيين: 1996
  • الإكمال: 2000
  • العميل: Millennium Bridge Trust
  • يتعاون المهندس المعماري: Sir Anthony Caro and Ove Arup & Partners
  • المهندس الإنشائي: Ove Arup & Partners
  • المساح: Davis Langdon & Everest
  • مهندس M+E: Ove Arup & Partners
  • مهندس إضاءة: Claude Engle and Ove Arup & Partners

الجوائز

  • RIBA Award

الإصدارات الصحفية ذات الصلة:

Foster + Partners

It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting.
fosterandpartners.com requires JavaScript.

Design Services

About Us

Projects

Data

Careers

Contact

News

View Image Gallery

Download Project PDF

The Millennium Bridge springs from a creative collaboration between architecture, art and engineering. Developed with sculptor Anthony Caro and engineers Arup, the commission resulted from an international competition. London's only pedestrian bridge and the first new crossing on this part of the Thames in more than a century, it links the City and St Paul's Cathedral to the north with the Globe Theatre and Tate Modern on Bankside. A key element in London's pedestrian infrastructure, it has created new routes into Southwark and encouraged new life on the embankment alongside St Paul's.

Structurally, the bridge pushes the boundaries of technology

Spanning 320 metres, it is a very shallow suspension bridge. Two Y-shaped armatures support eight cables that run along the sides of the 4-metre-wide deck, while steel transverse arms clamp on to the cables at 8-metre intervals to support the deck itself. This groundbreaking structure means that the cables never rise more than 2.3 metres above the deck, allowing those crossing the bridge to enjoy uninterrupted panoramic views and preserving sight lines from the surrounding buildings. As a result, the bridge has a uniquely thin profile, forming a slender arc across the water. A slender ribbon of steel by day, it is illuminated to form a glowing blade of light at night.

The bridge opened in June 2000 and an astonishing 100,000 people crossed it during the first weekend. However, under this heavy traffic the bridge exhibited greater than expected lateral movement, and as a result it was temporarily closed. Extensive research revealed that this movement was caused by synchronised pedestrian footfall − a phenomenon of which little was previously known in the engineering world. The solution was to fit dampers discreetly beneath the deck to mitigate movement. This proved highly successful and the research undertaken by the engineers has resulted in changes to the codes for bridge building worldwide.

“Close up, it [the Millennium Bridge] is a wonderful assembly of almost organic components, that provide an ever-changing composition which reminds one of a 21st century version of something which could be seen in the natural history museum. A truly great addition to this historic river and city.” 2003 RIBA Award citation

“The bridge is a combination of technology and style .. It is not the cheapest way o getting across a river. It is a balance between efficiency, cost and beauty. That balance is emotional, it is not rational.” Tony Fitzpatrick, of Arup, quoted in Building design, 31 March 2000

Appointment: 1996
Completion: 2000

Client: Millennium Bridge Trust

Collaborating Architect: Sir Anthony Caro and Ove Arup & Partners

Structural Engineer: Ove Arup & Partners
Quantity Surveyor: Davis Langdon & Everest
M+E Engineer: Ove Arup & Partners
Lighting Engineer: Claude Engle and Ove Arup & Partners